News in 2006

Little Miss Sunshine To Receive Chairman’s Vanguard Award At 18th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala
2007 Palm Springs International Film Festival
Cast members from the film along with screenwriter Michael Arndt and directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris will attend to accept the award.

Steven Wilson / Ron Hofmann
B|W|R Public Relations, 310.550.7776 /

Palm Springs, CA – The 18th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) will honor the film Little Miss Sunshine with the Chairman’s Vanguard Award at the Festival’s annual Awards Gala. Cast members from the film along with screenwriter Michael Arndt and directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris will attend to accept the award. Previously announced honorees include the cast of Babel, Sydney Pollack, Kate Winslet, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Todd Field and Adam Beach. The Awards Gala, which will be held on Saturday, January 6, 2007 at the Palm Springs Convention Center hosted by “Entertainment Tonight’s” Mary Hart.

Festival Chairman Earl Greenburg said, “Vanguard, by definition is any creative group active in the innovation and application of new concepts and techniques. The film Little Miss Sunshine is the perfect example of this definition. One of the more innovative films from this year, we are very excited to honor the film’s directors, writers and cast members with this achievement. We are currently expecting cast members from the film Abigail Breslin and Alan Arkin to attend the Awards Gala and hope that the additional cast members will be able to join us as well.”

“All of us at Searchlight are so thrilled to be receiving the Vanguard award for Little Miss Sunshine,” said Nancy Utely, COO of Fox Searchlight Pictures. “It is a fitting tribute that speaks to the spirit and essence of the film.”

About Little Miss Sunshine
Little Miss Sunshine is an American family road comedy that shatters the mold. Brazenly satirical and yet deeply human, the film introduces audiences to one of the most endearingly fractured families in recent cinema history: the Hoovers, whose trip to a pre-pubescent beauty pageant results not only in comic mayhem but in transformation and a moving look at the surprising rewards of being losers in a winning-crazed culture. A runaway hit at the Sundance Film Festival, where it played to standing ovations, the film strikes a nerve with everyone who’s ever been awestruck by how their muddled families seem to make it after all. The film stars Greg Kinnear, Toni Collette, Steve Carell, Paul Dano, Abigail Breslin and Alan Arkin.

Little Miss Sunshine features the directorial debut of renowned music video directors (and husband-and-wife team) Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, who direct from a an original screenplay by Micahel Arndt. The film is produced by Big Beach and Bona Fide Productions and released by Fox Searchlight. The film was recently honored with 5 Spirit Award nominations, 2 IFP Gotham nominations and listed as on of the top ten films of the year by the National Board of Review.

About The Palm Springs International Film Festival
Founded in 1990 by then Mayor Sonny Bono, the PSIFF is one of the largest film festivals in North America. The Festival has an attractive film sales and distribution record and is seen by American distributors as one of the best Academy Award campaign marketing tools. The Festival also features cultural events, filmmaker tributes, industry seminars and an annual black-tie gala award presentation.

Renewing their support of this year’s Festival is Title Sponsor, The City of Palm Springs and Presenting Sponsors, Spencer’s Restaurant, The Desert Sun, the City of Indian Wells, the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Wessman Development and Entertainment Tonight. Major sponsors include Tiffany & Co., Regal Entertainment Group, Mercedes-Benz, Integrated Wealth Management, Bank of America, CBS2, Ciroc vodka, Johnnie Walker scotch, Don Julio tequila, Frownies, Wells Fargo, House & Garden, Guthy-Renker, Palm Desert National Bank, Windermere Real Estate and Artistic Contributor, the SAG Foundation.

Passes and Awards Gala tickets are now on sale for the 18th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival, scheduled from January 4-15, 2007. Join us as the Festival plays host to a fabulous array of movies and movie stars. A spectacular event, the Festival has a line up of more than 230 films from 65 countries, seminars, special events and Gala receptions. To order passes call us at 760-322-2930 or 800-898-7256 or click here to order online.