News in 2008

Revolutionary Road cast to receive Ensemble Award
2009 Palm Springs International Film Festival


Film's Cast to Receive Ensemble Performance Award

Palm Springs, CA (December 11, 2008) – The 20th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) will honor the cast of Revolutionary Road with the Ensemble Performance Award at the Festival's annual Awards Gala.  Cast members Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Kathy Bates and Michael Shannon, Kathryn Hahn, David Harbour and Zoe Kazan are expected to attend and accept the award presented.  Presented by Cartier, the Awards Gala will kick-off the 2009 Awards Season on Tuesday, January 6, 2009 at the Palm Springs Convention Center and will be hosted by "Entertainment Tonight's" Mary Hart.  The Festival runs January 6-19, 2009.

Festival Chairman Harold Matzner said, "The Festival is honored to present the cast of Revolutionary Road with this year's Ensemble Performance Award. Based on Richard Yates' brilliant novel, Revolutionary Road is one of the most anticipated films of the year."  The Festival will also honor previously announced honorees Ron Howard with the Director's Lifetime Achievement Award, Anne Hathaway with the Desert Palm Achievement Award and Dakota Fanning with the Rising Star Award.

Adapted from the landmark novel by Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road is an incisive portrait of an American marriage seen through the eyes of Frank (three-time Academy Award® nominee Leonardo DiCaprio) and April (five-time Academy Award® nominee Kate Winslet) Wheeler. Yates' story of 1950's America poses a question that has been reverberating through modern relationships ever since: can two people break away from the ordinary without breaking apart?  Directed by Sam Mendes, the film's ensemble cast includes Academy Award® winner Kathy Bates, David Harbour, Zoe Kazan, Kathryn Hahn and Michael Shannon and is scheduled for limited release in December 2008 and nationally in January 2009.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary PSIFF was founded in 1990 by then Mayor Sonny Bono.  The festival, scheduled from January 6-19, 2009, will include over 400 screenings of more than 200 films from approximately 60 countries.  The Festival presents a majority of the films submitted for consideration in the Best Foreign Language category for the Academy Awards, as well as a large number of American independent and international features and documentaries marking their world, North American or U.S. debuts.  Screenings are held on 15 screens throughout Palm Springs.

The Festival's 20th Annual Awards Gala is presented by Cartier and sponsored by Mercedes Benz and Entertainment Tonight.  Renewing sponsors of this year's Festival are Title Sponsor, The City of Palm Springs and Presenting Sponsors, The Desert Sun, the City of Indian Wells, the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Spencer’s Restaurant, and Wessman Development.  Major Sponsors include Bank of America, Integrated Wealth Management, Guthy-Renker, Regal Entertainment, Wells Fargo, Palm Desert National Bank, CBS2, Ocean Properties Development, Ciroc, Johnnie Walker and Don Julio.