Festival News

Beach First Honoree to Be Announced for Festival’s January 6, 2007 Awards Gala

PALM SPRINGS, CA (October 5, 2006) – The 18th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) will honor Adam Beach with the Rising Star Award at the Festival’s annual Awards Gala. Festival chairman Earl Greenburg made the announcement at a private event at the historic Charlie Chaplin home of Patricia Barry in Beverly Hills, CA hosted by L.A. Confidential and Festival board member Stephen Breimer. This is the first honoree announcement made for the 2007 Festival. The Awards Gala will kick-off the 2007 Awards Season on Saturday, January 6, 2007 at the Palm Springs Convention Center, which will be hosted by “Entertainment Tonight’s” Mary Hart.

Commenting on the selection, Greenburg said, “We are very excited to announce Adam Beach as the recipient of this year’s Rising Star Award. His role in Flags of Our Fathers is sure to be remembered as one of the outstanding performances from this year in cinema.”

Past recipients of the Rising Star Award include Terrence Howard, Scarlett Johansson and Bryce Dallas Howard.

Beach stars along with Ryan Phillippe, Jesse Bradford, Barry Pepper and Paul Walker in Flags of Our Fathers, a human drama of friendship and love, sacrifice and manipulation, set against the violent conflict of the battle of Iwo Jima. Two-time Academy Award®-winning director Clint Eastwood focuses equally on the war and home, crosscutting between the viciousness of the battle and the manufactured propaganda campaign and careful manipulation of the image of “Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima” the photo that depicts five Marines and one Navy Corpsman raising the U.S. flag on Mount Suribachi. DreamWorks Pictures and Warner Bros. Pictures present a Malpaso/Amblin Entertainment production, “Flags of Our Fathers” schedule for release on Friday, October 20, 2006.

Beach may best be known for his critically acclaimed portrayal of Victor Joseph in Smoke Signals, which won the Filmmaker's Trophy Award and the Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival. Beach also starred opposite Nicolas Cage in Windtalkers, the story of the Navajo Code Talkers, who spoke their language as a code during World War II. Beach will next star in “Moose TV,” a comedy series for Canadian television. He will also be seen in “Comanche Moon,” a telefilm based on the Larry McMurtry

novel. Beach’s many studio and independent feature films include Squanto: A Warrior's Tale, The Big Empty, The Art of Woo, Posers, Last Stop, Now and Forever, My Indian Summer (Best Actor In A Feature Film by First Americans In The Arts), A Boy Called Hate, The Adventures of Joe Dirt, opposite David Spade, and Mystery, Alaska. Beach earned a Best Actor award from the American Indian Film Festival for his role as Frank Fencepost in the screen adaptation of W.P. Kinsella's Dance Me Outside.

The Festival, scheduled from January 4-15, 2007, will now have a total of 15 screens to showcase the more than 200 films from approximately 60 countries featured each year. The Festival will continue its long standing relationship with the Camelot Theatre, Regal Cinemas Palm Springs, Annenberg Theater at the Palm Springs Art Museum and the Palm Springs High School Auditorium, in addition to the newly refurbished Palm Canyon Theatre located in downtown Palm Springs.

Commenting on the additional screens for the Festival, Greenburg said, “With the growth of the Festival audience over the last three years, the addition of the new Palm Canyon Theatre along with our other host venues the Camelot Theatres and Regal Cinemas Palm Springs helps provide even more seating availability for the festival’s avid filmgoers.”

The Awards Gala honors individuals in the entertainment industry with several prestigious awards for acting, directing, achievement in film scoring and life achievement. Last year the Festival honored David Cronenberg with the Sonny Bono Visionary Award presented by A History of Violence star Viggo Mortensen; Jake Gyllenhaal with the Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actor presented by his Jarheard co-star Peter Sarsgaard; Terrence Howard with the Rising Star Award presented by his Crash co-star Chris “Ludacris” Bridges and director Paul Haggis; Felicity Huffman with the Breakthrough Performance Award presented by her Transamerica co-star Fionnula Flanagan; Michael London with the Producer of the Year Award presented by Sideways star Virginia Madsen; Shirley MacLaine with the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Academy Award winner Kathy Bates; Thomas Newman with the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing presented by Finding Nemo director Andrew Stanton; Charlize Theron with the Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress presented by her Sweet November co-star Keanu Reeves.

Founded in 1990 by then Mayor Sonny Bono, the PSIFF is one of the largest film festivals in North America. The Festival has an attractive film sales and distribution record and is seen by American distributors as one of the best Academy Award campaign marketing tools. The Festival also features cultural events, filmmaker tributes, industry seminars and an annual black-tie gala award presentation.

Renewing their support of this year’s Festival is Title Sponsor, The City of Palm Springs and Presenting Sponsors, Spencer’s Restaurant, The Desert Sun, the City of Indian Wells, the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Wessman Development and Entertainment Tonight. Major sponsors include Tiffany & Co., Frownies, Wells Fargo, Regal Entertainment Group, and Integrated Wealth Management.

For additional information, call the Festival headquarters at (760) 322-2930 or visit the website at www.psfilmfest.org.

list all films
list all events

film & event schedule
s m t w t f s
4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15

browse films

search films