Festival News

ShortFest to Screen All Five Student Academy Award Winners
2012 Palm Springs International Shortfest


Palm Springs, CA (June 19, 2012) – The 2012 Palm Springs International ShortFest & Film Market, announced today that it will present the first public screening of the Gold Medal Award winners of this year’s Student Academy Awards.  These five films chosen by the voting members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences represent the “best in class” from among all of the student films submitted to the Academy this year.  The winning films were announced on Saturday, June 9 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

ShortFest Programming and Executive Director Darryl Macdonald said, “Having selected a number of Student Academy Award Gold Medal winners in past years, prior to their going on to win those honors from the Academy, we’re keenly aware of the general excellence of the films chosen to receive these awards.  We’re especially delighted to be able to share all of this year’s winners with ShortFest filmgoers in their first public screenings since winning their awards.”

The selected films are The Reality Clock, Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California; Eyrie, David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts; Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment, Keiko Wright, New York University; Under, Mark Raso, Columbia University; For Elsie, David Winstone, University of Westminster, United Kingdom.

The Student Academy Awards is a national student film competition conducted by The Academy and the Academy Foundation. Each year, over 500 college and university film students from all over the U.S. compete for awards and cash grants, with films being judged in four categories: Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Alternative. Outstanding student filmmakers from outside the U.S. are honored each year as well. The presentation ceremony is a popular event that is annually attended by a capacity audience in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

In the past, a number of Student Academy Award-winning films have been showcased at ShortFest prior to going on to be nominated for Oscars in the short film categories, including recent ShortFest alumni On The Line (2008), Kavi (2010), Bekas (2010) and Raju (2011), as well as Academy Award winner God of Love (2010). All attesting to the quality of the Academy’s selection for their Student Academy Award winners.  It’s a good bet that one of this year’s winners will be among next year’s Oscar® nominees.  Previous winners include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis and Trey Parker.

About Palm Springs International ShortFest
Designated by AMPAS as an award-qualifying festival, and accredited by the International Short Film Conference, the Palm Springs International ShortFest and its Short Film Market are the largest and most prominent short film showcase in North America.  The Festival and its concurrent 3,000-film Market continue to serve as a scouting ground for new filmmaking talent and are well attended by those in the business of buying and selling short films.

The Palm Springs International ShortFest is supported by an ever-growing number of new and longtime sponsors with local, national and international prominence. The Title Sponsor is the City of Palm Springs with Presenting Sponsors The Desert Sun and Spencer’s.  Major Sponsors include, Panavision, The BottomLine, Stampede Post Productions, Greenhouse Studios, KQED San Francisco and The Australian Consulate General in Los Angeles.  Special support has been provided by The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.  The official host hotel and media center is the Renaissance Palm Springs.  More information is available online at www.psfilmfest.org or by calling (800) 898-7256.

Steven Wilson / Emily Davis
B|W|R Public Relations
swilson@bwr-la.com / edavis@bwr-la.com

David Lee
Palm Springs International Film Festival

list all films
list all events

film & event schedule
s m t w t f s
19 20 21 22 23
24 25

browse films

search films